“always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that is within you.” 1 Peter 3:15

The Hope Within…

I have put off starting a blog thinking that there are already too many. This past week I had a change of heart.  For over two years I have not done any serious writing.  In my previous work there was the ‘publish or perish’ article that always loomed on Deadline Tuesday.   I have missed those days of of the pressure cooker that brought about soul searching ideas.  Being out of practice, this forum may be useful as begin writing again as spark for others to reflect and share reasons for the hope within.

I chose the title of my blog from 1 Peter 3:15 -“always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that is within you.”  Whenever anyone begins to tell of Christ, there is a twinkle that comes to the eye and a marching cadence of the voice, almost in sing song fashion.  It is the hope behind the words that causes the pulse to quicken and countenance to express what his words cannot.  It is the hope within that brings joy to every receptive heart that cannot be contained.  That hope moves us to greater love and greater faith as we find ways of expressing our reason for  having it.  This hope that cannot be measured by any human standard.  It takes hold of our entire being and presses us to every expression of reason we can use to communicate and ignite the same hope in others. Expressing the hope within me and a readiness to share it with others is why I decided to start this blog.

A little about myself and current work. Always wanting to be useful to the Savior, I would do what I could where I was at any time.  I received no formal training in ministry other than the classes taken at Faulkner in the 80’s but went on to law school and had the honor of representing the people of the State of Alabama as an assistant district attorney for a number of years.  While I did not enroll in a school of ministry during my lawyer days, I was schooled in ministering by churches and good men that were gracious patiently enduring my endless questioning and ideas.

In 2003 a congregation where I had taught an evangelism training course on several occasions, took a chance at the request of their preacher and allowed me immerse myself in the area of greatest passion – sharing Christ with others.  I began to follow and learn from a dear man. During those years many souls obeyed the gospel and we were enjoying taking on the challenges and opportunities to broaden the boarders of the kingdom in spite of our short comings, the financial set backs that loomed just around the corner, and an uneasy sense of the future.  My family and I grew close to the people and when another life changing decision had been put to us, it was difficult but necessary for the sake of the gospel’s commission to part company.

The Lord in his providential care and time brought me in contact with a family of christians who were interested in laboring together and were already involved in taking the gospel to others in many wonderful ways.  My family and I have just celebrated my second year with the Madison church and have grown to love their spirit of unity and bond of peace.  And though we can never replace the friends and memories of the past, we have developed new loving ties and experiences.  I guess you could say that I am the ‘Barnabas’ minister.  I encourage brothers and sisters to seek out those whom Christ misses the most and share Him with them.

It is my desire that if only one reader finds this blog post out of the millions of others and it moves them toward a stronger hope within their heart, then it has been well worth the effort.  Thank you for your interest in the things of God.

Leave a comment